Conclusion to the fight or flight.

I yell to both of them, “I just want to park my truck and go surf!”  Both men continue to argue as they raise their voices and  get closer to each other.  The younger man continues to walk toward the salty dog as he is setting his board down.  When he gets within a couple of feet of the salty dog he turns his back and heads back towards his car still screaming and shouting.  Both men continue shouting as the younger man gets in his car and drives away shouting at the salty dog.

As I move my truck into the now vacant space I ask the salty dog if he knew that guy and he responded he has never seen him before in his life.  A bit rattled and shocked I get in my 2.5 hours of sup surfing still puzzled by what I just witnessed.  In the water I share the story with my friends who are just as surprised.

Upon returning to my truck after the session, I am greeted by the salty dog who has also surfed and taken some time to relax with the other regulars on the beach by the fire.  His perma grin and blood-shot eyes that are barely open tell me he has had time to fully relax.  He approaches me saying “so that’s what you were riding out there”  commenting on my SUP board.  “That looks like fun I have never tried it.”  We chat a bit about surfing and he never mentions the altercation that had taken place a few hours ago, so I comment,  “Man, I thought you guys were going to fight this morning !”  “That was crazy!”

The salty dog replies “yeah those fuckin idiots come up here thinking they can do or say whatever they want.”  “I have been coming here since 63′, very few people have been coming here before me and I know the ones who have.”

I reply, “I believe that and I am glad it did not get any worse!   We have enough to deal with in the cold shark infested water, I don’t want parking to be an issue as well.”   He responds, “yeah its bullshit man, but I ain’t gonna back down.”  I state “I could see that.  Hope you got some good waves out of it.”

“Yeah not too bad, have a good one, see you next time.”  The salty dog barks as he walks back to his truck.

, , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

